Citizen Connect is your nonpartisan doorway to civic action. We put the 600+ organizations – right, left and center – working to strengthen our democracy at your fingertips, so you can choose how to connect.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Tue 25

October 25, 2022 @ 5:00 pm6:00 pm EDT

Promising Practices Webinar: Creating a Civic Learning Environment

National Civic League

Location: Online

About this event

Tuesday, October 25th at 5pm ET (4pm CT, 3pm MT, 2pm PT)

Teachers do not need to shy away from teaching their students the challenges and virtues of democratic self-governance. Democracy can inform how their classrooms operate and how they choose to teach. It is more than a curriculum. It is part and parcel of the learning environment.

In this webinar, we will hear from a group of elementary teachers who are committed to teaching the skills of deliberative democracy to their young students. Speakers will discuss the five important skills and dispositions necessary for creating a learning environment oriented for deliberative citizenship, and how they are incorporating these concepts into their classrooms.

To better participate in a guided discussion, attendees are encouraged to read speaker Stacie Molnar-Main‘s article, Concerned About Civic Learning? Consider the Learning Environment, in advance of the webinar.

Speakers

Dr. Stacie Molnar-Main, Research Associate, Kettering Foundation

Donnan Stoicovy, Retired Teacher and Elementary School Principal

Jennifer Cody, Fifth Grade Teacher

Register