Election Participation Guide: Your Vote Matters! Register, Vote, Work The Polls, Get Out The Vote.
Loading Events

« All Events

Wed 18

September 18 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm EDT

The White Power Movement: Its History, Threat and…

Dock C. Bracy Center for Human Reconciliation

Location: Online

Please join us via Zoom on Wednesday, September 18, 2024, 7-9 pm EDT (UTC-4) for Let’s Talk Series: The White Power Movement: Its History, Threat and What You Can Do About It.
 
The white power movement has long posed a threat to our safety and to our democracy.  In this session, Julie Farnam will discuss the origins of the white power movement in the United States, how it has inspired violence throughout the years, where the movement stands today, and what we can do to address its danger.  She will examine the continued assault on our educational system to deny children the right to know and understand different perspectives and that prevent the healing of past wrongs as well as strategies to recognize and combat hate in our communities.
  
Julie Farnam is the author of Domestic Darkness: An Insider’s Account of the January 6th Insurrection, and the Future of Right-Wing Extremism (Ig Publishing, 2024).
  
Julie Farnam served as the Assistant and then Acting Director of Intelligence for the United States Capitol Police during one of the most tumultuous periods in this country’s history. During her time there, she oversaw the identification and vetting of nearly 20,000 threats against members of Congress, many of which were made by U.S. citizens who adhered to extremist ideologies. Prior to joining the Capitol Police, Farnam served with the Department of Homeland Security for over fifteen years.
  
Before the Event

Although not required to attend this event, we suggest reading Domestic Darkness: An Insider’s Account of the January 6th Insurrection, and the Future of Right-Wing Extremism (Ig Publishing, 2024) and purchasing books from a black-owned bookstore.

All registered participants will have access to a brief pre-event survey that allows questions to be submitted to our speaker.
  
During the Event

This is a webinar style event. All registered participants will have the opportunity to submit questions to our speaker. Questions will be screened and asked, given the time allowed.
  
After the Event

All registered participants will receive a post-event email including a survey and additional resources. A recording of the event will be publicly available on the Dock C. Bracy Center for Human Reconciliation website, in the days following our event.

Please join us via Zoom on Wednesday, September 18, 2024, 7-9 pm EDT (UTC-4) for Let’s Talk Series: The White Power Movement: Its History, Threat and What You Can Do About It.
 

Wednesday, September 18, 2024
Boston 7:00 pm EDT (UTC-4)
Chicago 6:00 pm CDT (UTC-5)
Salt Lake City 5:00 pm MDT (UTC-6)
Seattle 4:00 pm PDT (UTC-7)
Honolulu 1:00 pm HST (UTC-10)
Corresponding UTC (GMT) 23:00
 
Social

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/julie-farnam/

Register