Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Sat 16

April 16 @ 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm EDT

Week of Deliberative Forums for College Students

National Issues Forums Institute

Location: Online

Exclusively for college students!  

Experience a full week of crossing boundaries to explore public issues with students from across the country in National Issues Forums using the online platform Common Ground for Action (CGA).  

Here’s how it works: There are five deliberative discussions scheduled during the week (April 11 to 16, 2022) – one per day at various times. Students can attend one or more of these forums.

Join the student-focused online forum series, hosted by James Madison University’s Institute for Constructive Advocacy and Dialogue and Every Voice Engaged Foundation. 

In these forums, students will deliberate with others from colleges and universities across the country over the tough choices facing us on the issue of policing reform, youth and opportunity, and climate change.

The aim is to give students a chance to deliberate with peers at campuses that are different from theirs – geographically, population size, and ideologically. We hope this allows students to hear voices they might not otherwise hear. 

For more information and registration links click REGISTER below.

The forums are scheduled for 90 minutes.

Monday April 11th 2pm ET / 11am PT   
Policing: What Should We Do to Ensure Fair Treatment and Keep Neighborhoods Safe for Everyone? 

Tuesday April 12th 5pm ET / 2pm PT
Youth and Opportunity: What Should We Do For Future Generations to Thrive? 

Wednesday April 13th 8pm ET / 5pm PT
Policing: What Should We Do to Ensure Fair Treatment and Keep Neighborhoods Safe for Everyone? 

Friday April 15th 4pm ET / 1pm PT
Policing: What Should We Do to Ensure Fair Treatment and Keep Neighborhoods Safe for Everyone? 

Saturday April 16th 1pm ET / 10am PT
Climate Choices: How Should We Meet the Challenges of a Warming Planet? 

Registrants will receive a link to join the forum and a link to an interactive version of the issue discussion guide for review before the deliberative discussion. 

Feel free to email if you have questions. 

Kara Dillard, PhD
Common Ground for Action & National Issues Forums Institute
kdillard@nifi.org

Register